Our videos

Green-LOGIX. Vegetation control on roads and railways

The project is financed in the scope of the 'Verkehrsinfrastrukturforschung' (VIF2016). The contracting authorities were the Federal Ministry for Climate Action, the ÖBB-Infrastruktur AG and the Autobahnen- und Schnellstraßen-Finanzierungs-Aktiengesellschaft.

Master 'Management of Conservation Areas'

Together with the Carinthia University of Applied Sciences we developed the Master of Science programme “Management of Conversation Areas” for which the University received a UNESCO Chair. The four semester master programme has been designed for international students and those responsible for protected areas such as national park and biosphere parks.
Details: http://www.fh-kaernten.at/mca

'Local aquaculture - is fish the new meat?'

Round Table 'Heimische Aquakultur - ist Fisch das neue Fleisch?' / 'Local aquaculture - is fish the new meat?' (October 2020)

Recultivating the Swan Mussel

The swan mussel, (‘Anodonta cygnea’), is a large species of freshwater mussel. It used to call Lake Woerthersee its home but for several years now could not be found there anymore. In a pilot project we are now trying to recultivate a smaller population of swan mussels in the Natura 2000 site Lendspitz-Maiernigg.

Video © Blühendes Österreich/OTS-Video/Katharina Almer

‚VIEL(GE)SCHICHTIG‘: USING ART TO RESEARCH LANDSCAPES | St. Jakob im Rosental

The project is part of the Kärntner Landesausstellung (Carinthian State Fair) ‚CARINTHIja.2020‘.
For further information visit www.oead.at/vielgeschichtig.

‚VIEL(GE)SCHICHTIG‘: USING ART TO RESEARCH LANDSCAPES | Velden

The project is part of the Kärntner Landesausstellung (Carinthian State Fair) ‚CARINTHIja.2020‘.
For further information visit www.oead.at/vielgeschichtig.

‚VIEL(GE)SCHICHTIG‘: USING ART TO RESEARCH LANDSCAPES | Klagenfurt

The project is part of the Kärntner Landesausstellung (Carinthian State Fair) ‚CARINTHIja.2020‘.
For further information visit www.oead.at/vielgeschichtig.

‚VIEL(GE)SCHICHTIG‘: USING ART TO RESEARCH LANDSCAPES | Nötsch

The project is part of the Kärntner Landesausstellung (Carinthian State Fair) ‚CARINTHIja.2020‘.
For further information visit www.oead.at/vielgeschichtig.

Long-term Biodiversity Index (L.B.I.)

Restoration and recultivation of large construction sites, landfill sites, or former industrial sites or quarries is a major challenge for conservation. To meet this challenge, we have developed the LBI (Long-term Biodiversity Index), a tool for safeguarding evidence and monitoring the success of ecological compensation measures.

Game of Clones

The discussion about neobiota is a long-running issue in nature conservation. In the Sparkling Science project "Game of Clones", new ways of dealing with the topic are being tested using the example of Japanese knotweed.

Webinar 'IUCN Green List & Natura 2000'

Webinar Series 2020 | Webinar 'IUCN Green List & Natura 2000'. Catarina Ferreira (IUCN) and Nadine Seleem (IUCN Green List).

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

Webinar 'Rights that arise in Nature Conservation'

Webinar Series 2020 | Webinar 'Rights that arise in Nature Conservation'. Jennifer Kelleher (IUCN) gives an insight into EPA's module about ‘Rights that arise in Nature Conservation’. (Recording of our session on 02 Jul)

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

Webinar 'Capacity Development'

Webinar Series 2020 | Webinar 'Capacity Development in Protected Areas and other Conserved Territories'. Eleanor Sterling (Museum of Natural History’s Center for Biodiversity and Conservation) and Mike Appleton (IUCN) give participants insight in one topic related to the EPA seminar ‘Capacity Development’. (Recording of our session on 16 July 2020)

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

Webinar 'Introducing EPA'

Webinar Series 2020 | Webinar 'Introducing EPA'. Michael Jungmeier (Carinthia University of Applied Sciences) and Andrej Sovinc (WCPA) give you an introduction to the European Parks Academy and why you should not miss out to take part in the Academy. (Recording of our session on Thu 18 Jun 2 pm CET)

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

Impressions from EPA 2019

Impressions from the European Parks Academy in 2019 held in Klagenfurt, Austria.

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

3 people, 3 words, 1 unique experience

Check out what the European Parks Academy meant to former participants from Ukraine in 2019.

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

European Parks Academy

The European Parks Academy (EPA) is a unique opportunity to learn more about emerging trends and new approaches in the management of protected areas. The seminars of EPA focus on the practical implementation of international standards (e. g. IUCN, UNESCO, Ramsar), policies and guidelines.
Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

UNESCO World Heritage Nomination Beech Forests

Europe's last ancient and primeval beech forests and their continental-wide expansion process were nominated as UNESCO World Heritage Site in February 2016. A unique nature conservation project including twelve European State Parties and more than 250 experts.

Biotopkartierung Kärnten

Dr. Hanns Kirchmeir talks about the biotope mapping of Carinthia. Biotope mapping is a valuable tool that shows the current environmental status of biotopes.

E.C.O.pteryx - Jungfernflug

The hexacopter E.C.O.pteryx enables a totally novel method of landscape analysis. This drone offers a completely new quality of image material from unusual perspectives.

Management of Protected Areas

Planning and managing protected areas is a challenging, but also rewarding mission. With the MSc programme "Management of Protected Areas" we provide a profound interdisciplinary education for interested persons.

map&go - Innovationspreis des Landes Kärnten 2014

For the project map&go, E.C.O. Institute for Ecology was awarded the innovation and research prize of the Land of Carinthia in 2014. With map&go project data is collected on the ground and the digitization process is completed in the field.

Unsere Videos

Green-LOGIX. Vegetationskontrolle an Straßen und Schienenwegen.

Das Projekt wird finanziert im Rahmen der Verkehrsinfrastrukturforschung (VIF2016). Unsere Auftraggeber waren das Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, die ÖBB-Infrastruktur AG und die Autobahnen- und Schnellstraßen-Finanzierungs-Aktiengesellschaft. Musik, lizenzfrei: RAGE | Book The Rental Wit It

Masterstudium "Management of Conservation Areas"

Gemeinsam mit der Carinthia University of Applied Sciences haben wir das Masterstudium “Management of Conversation Areas” entwickelt, für das der Fachhochschule ein UNESCO-Lehrstuhl zugesprochen wurde. Der Lehrgang, bestehend aus 4 Semestern, wurde für internationale Studierende and Verantwortliche in Schutzgebieten wie Nationalparks oder Biosphärenparks konzipiert.
Details: http://www.fh-kaernten.at/mca

"Heimische Aquakultur - ist Fisch das neue Fleisch?"

Runder Tisch zum Thema "Heimische Aquakultur - ist Fisch das neue Fleisch?" (Oktober 2020)

Wiederansiedelung der Großen Teichmuschel

Die Große Teichmuschel ("Anodonta cygnea") gehört zur Familie der Fluss- und Teichmuscheln. Bis vor einigen Jahren war sie im Wörthersee noch anzutreffen, seit einiger Zeit sind nur noch Leerschalen zu finden. Im Rahmen verschiedener Naturschutzmaßnahmen für das Europaschutzgebiet Lendspitz-Maiernigg versuchen wir nun, die Große Teichmuschel wieder im Schutzgebiet am Ostufer des Wörthersees anzusiedeln.

Video © Blühendes Österreich/OTS-Video/Katharina Almer

VIEL(GE)SCHICHTIG: Mit Kunst an der Landschaft forschen | St. Jakob im Rosental

Das Projekt findet im Rahmen der Kärntner Landesausstellung CARINTHIja.2020 statt.
Weitere Informationen: www.oead.at/vielgeschichtig.

VIEL(GE)SCHICHTIG: Mit Kunst an der Landschaft forschen | Velden

Das Projekt findet im Rahmen der Kärntner Landesausstellung CARINTHIja.2020 statt.
Weitere Informationen: www.oead.at/vielgeschichtig.

VIEL(GE)SCHICHTIG: Mit Kunst an der Landschaft forschen | Klagenfurt

Das Projekt findet im Rahmen der Kärntner Landesausstellung CARINTHIja.2020 statt.
Weitere Informationen:
www.oead.at/vielgeschichtig.

VIEL(GE)SCHICHTIG: Mit Kunst an der Landschaft forschen | Nötsch

Das Projekt findet im Rahmen der Kärntner Landesausstellung CARINTHIja.2020 statt.
Weitere Informationen: www.oead.at/vielgeschichtig.

Long-term Biodiversity Index (L.B.I.)

Renaturierung und Rekultivierung von Großbaustellen, Deponien, sowie ehemaligem Industrie-, Rohstoffgewinnungs- und Bergbaugelände sind große Herausforderungen für den Naturschutz. Als neues Instrument zur Beweissicherung und Erfolgskontrolle haben wir den LBI (Long-term Biodiversity Index) entwickelt.

Game of Clones

Die Diskussion um Neobiota ist ein Dauerbrenner im Naturschutz. Im Sparkling Science-Projekt "Game of Clones" werden am Beispiel des Japanischen Staudenknöterichs neue Formen des Umgangs mit dem Thema erprobt.

Webinar "IUCN Green List & Natura 2000"

Webinarreihe 2020, Webinar 'IUCN Green List and Natura 2000'. Catarina Ferreira (IUCN) und Nadine Seleem (IUCN Green List).

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

Webinar "Rights that arise in Nature Conservation"

Webinarreihe 2020, Webinar "Rights that arise in Nature Conservation". Jennifer Kelleher (IUCN) gibt einen Einblick in das EPA-Modul "Rights that arise in Nature Conservation". (Aufzeichnung vom 2. Juli 2020l)

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

Webinar "Capacity Development"

Webinarreihe 2020, Webinar "Capacity Development in Protected Areas and other Conserved Territories". Eleanor Sterling (Museum of Natural History’s Center for Biodiversity and Conservation) und Mike Appleton (IUCN) geben Teilnehmenden Einblick in das EPA-Seminar "Capacity Development". (Aufzeichnung vom 16. Juli 2020)

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

Webinar "Introducing EPA"

Webinarreihe 2020, Webinar "Introducing EPA". Michael Jungmeier (Carinthia University of Applied Sciences) und Andrej Sovinc (WCPA) geben eine Einführung die die European Parks Academy und erzählen, was sie so besonders macht. (Aufzeichnung vom 18. Juni 2020)

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

Impressionen von der EPA 2019

Impressionen von der European Parks Academy 2019 in Klagenfurt, Österreich.

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

"3 people, 3 words, 1 unique experience"

Drei Teilnehmende aus der Ukraine berichten über ihre Erfahrungen bei der European Parks Academy 2019.

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

European Parks Academy

Die European Parks Academy (EPA) ist eine einzigartige Möglichkeit, um mehr über aktuelle Trends und neue Ansätze für die Verwaltung und Betreuung von Schutzgebieten zu lernen.
Die Seminare der EPA fokussieren auf die praktische Implementierung internationaler Standards (z. B. IUCN, UNESCO, Ramsar), Richtlinien und Guidelines.

Details: https://e-c-o.at/epa.html

UNESCO Welterbenominierung Buchenwälder

Die letzten Buchenurwälder Europas und deren einzigartiger Ausbreitungsprozess über den gesamten Europäischen Kontinent wurden 2016 als UNESCO Weltnaturerbe nominiert. Ein einzigartiges Naturschutz-Projekt, das zwölf Europäische Staaten umfasst und in das mehr als 250 ExpertInnen involviert waren.

Biotopkartierung Kärnten

Dr. Hanns Kirchmeir spricht über die Biotopkartierung Kärnten. Die Biotopkartierung ist ein wertvolles Instrument, das den aktuellen ökologischen Stand von Lebensräumen zeigt.

E.C.O.pteryx - Jungfernflug Naturschutzdrohne

Die Naturschutzdrohne E.C.O.pteryx ermöglicht eine völlig neuartige Erhebungsmethodik. Diese Drohne bietet eine vollkommen neuartige Qualität von Bildmaterial aus ungewohnten Perspektiven.

Management of Protected Areas

Die Planung und das Management von Schutzgebieten ist eine herausfordernde Aufgabe. Mit dem ULG Management of Protected Areas bieten wir eine umfassende, interdisziplinäre Ausbildung für interessierte Personen.

map&go - Innovationspreis des Landes Kärnten 2014

2014 wurde E.C.O. Institut für Ökologie für das Projekt map & go - Volldigitale Geländeerhebung mit dem Innovations- und Forschungspreises des Landes Kärnten 2014 ausgezeichnet. Mit diesem Projekt werden Daten im Gelände erhoben und der Digitalisierungsprozess bereits vorort im Feld abgeschlossen.